Skip to main content


The Commonwealth Games is an international multi-sport & music event involving athletes from the Commonwealth of Nations.  The event was first held in 1930, and has taken place every four years since then. The Commonwealth Games 2022 will be held in Birmingham, England, from 27 July to 7 August 2022. It will be the largest sporting and cultural event ever held in the city, and is expected to attract around 1.5 million visitors from all over the world. Birmingham was elected as the host city at the Commonwealth Games Federation General Assembly in Auckland on 21 September 2017.

The official mascot for the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games is ‘Kheleo’, a young lion cub. Kheleo was chosen to represent the friendly and welcoming nature of the people of Birmingham and the West Midlands region.

No Shortcuts

53 Member Countries

The Commonwealth Games are open to athletes from any of the 53 member countries of the Commonwealth of Nations.

The Commonwealth Games is a celebration of sport, culture and music. Birmingham 2022 will feature a wide range of musical events, from pop and rock concerts to classical and traditional performances. There will also be a range of sports competitions taking place across the city, including athletics, boxing, cycling, gymnastics, hockey, netball, rugby sevens, shooting, swimming, table tennis, weightlifting and wrestling.

More information about tickets will be available on the Birmingham 2022 website closer to the time.

Are you looking forward to the Commonwealth Games?


See more news here